top of page



Compulsory Attendance Age Lowered on May 8, 2012 from 7 to 6, effective August 1, 2012.

This law changes the compulsory attendence age from 7 to 6, however; a parent of a 6 year old may opt out of enrolling the child until age 7 by notifying the Board of Education in the County of residence, in writing, that the child will not be enrolled until age 7.


Compulsory school age in Alabama is age 6 age 17. 


Alabama Home Schooling Laws

The legal options for home education in Alabama are as follows:

Option #1 – Church School

  • Establish or enroll in a church school.
  • Attendance:  None specified, though public schools require 180 days of attendance.
  • Subjects:  None specified
  • Qualifications:  None specified
  • Notice:  Parents must file a notice of enrollment and attendance with the local school superintendent on a provided form. 
  • Record Keeping:  Maintain a daily attendance register to be kept by the principal teacher of the church school.
  • Testing:  None specified


Option #2 – Private Tutor

  • Hire a private tutor.
  • Attendance: 140 days per calendar year, consisting of 3 hours per day between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m.
  • Subjects:  Reading, Spelling, Writing, Arithmetic, English, Geography, US History, Science, Health, Physical Education, Alabama State History.
  • Qualifications:  Private tutor must have a current teachers certificate
  • Notice: File a statement showing the child to be instructed, the subjects that will be taught, and the period of instruction with the local school superintendent. 
  • Record Keeping:  Maintain a register of the child’s work showing daily attendance and name such reports as the state board may require.
  • Testing:  None specified


More information on the Home school laws of the State of Alabama can be found in the following links:

Alabama Homeschooling Information - Alabama Homeschool Laws and Alabama Support Groups

HSLDA | Home School Laws


bottom of page